Why do I have to give my consent to Videotron?
Under Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), it’s prohibited to install computer programs or connect devices to a computer for commercial purposes without the express consent of the computer’s owner or authorized user.
For more information, we invite you to consult the Government of Canada website.
What does it mean to give my consent?
Your consent authorizes Videotron to proceed with the updating of devices (terminal, modem, mobile phone) allowing for the use of your services. As the device’s authorized user, your consent is required whether you own the device or not. A single consent is necessary for all the devices registered under your account.
Important : If you refuse to give your consent, Videotron will have to remove the device(s) in question from your account. If we are unable to proceed with the necessary updates, we will not be able to guarantee the device’s effective operation and some features might no longer be covered.
How do updates work?
Updates are essential for applying security measures to your device and to the network, maintaining the quality of your service, granting access to the latest features and improving your overall experience.
Good to know
Other telecommunications service providers perform updates as well.
- The updates are free
- You will not be notified before or after an update. Updates will be transparent to you, as is the case already, and the use of your device will not be affected
- Only Videotron and the device manufacturers are authorized to perform updates on your devices, after obtaining your consent to do so
- Updates are performed remotely and require no action on your part
- Your favourites, programmed shows and recordings, as well as all your information will be saved after every update