Which services are included in the Daily Traveller Pass?
All our unlimited voice and text messaging plans come with the Daily Traveller Pass option. The Daily Traveller Pass remains active for a period of 24 hours following the use of any of your Mobile services while abroad:
- Calls made in the country you’re visiting and calls made to Canada are included. Example: You’re in Mexico and you make a call to someone in Mexico or you’re in Belgium and you make a call to someone in Canada. The fees for these calls are included in the Daily Traveller Pass.
- Calls made to countries covered by the Daily Traveller Pass and to other destinations are not included and will be billed on a per-use basis according to the rates indicated on our website. Example: You’re in Portugal and you make a call to someone in Spain. Although both countries are covered by the Daily Traveller Pass, calls made from one to the other will be billed on a per-use basis according to the rates indicated on our website. If you’re in Italy and you make a call to someone in Cuba, the call will also be billed on a per-use basis according to the rates indicated on our website.
- Text messages sent when you’re in a country covered by the Daily Traveller Pass are included.
- Text messages received from any number in the world are included.
- Uploads and downloads are included when you’re visiting a country covered by the Pass, as long as you respect your plan’s monthly data allowance. Note that the Daily Traveller Pass is disabled during your air travels and boat cruises.
Good to know
You can follow your usage for the current 24-hour period by visiting the Customer Centre or by logging into the User Centre + app on your mobile. You will find:
- An alarm clock indicating how much time is left to the current 24-hour period
- The service you used that automatically activated the Daily Traveller Pass
- A recap of the days for which the Daily Traveller Pass was activated (days and applicable fees)
- The activate and deactivate button allowing you to turn the Daily Traveller Pass on or off
How the Daily Traveller Pass works?
Using your services after a 24-hour period reactivates the Daily Traveller Pass for another 24 hours and automatically incurs daily fees.
Example: If you used a service for the first time at 5 P.M. (CET), the Daily Traveller Pass will remain active until 4:59 P.M. (CET) the following day. As of 5 P.M., the Daily Traveller Pass will automatically reactivate for another 24 hours for which you will be billed.
Don’t forget! Data roaming must be turned on for the Daily Traveller Pass to work.
What about the billing of the Daily Traveller Pass?
The Daily Traveller Pass is billed $9 for the US Daily Traveller Pass and $13 for the International Daily Traveller Pass.
A text message will be sent to you when you arrive at your destination, advising you of the applicable roaming fees for that country.
Note that there is a maximum number of days for which the Daily Traveller Pass is billed per billing cycle, and it varies by destination:
- The US Daily Traveller Pass is billed for a maximum of 10 days (for a maximum of $90).
- The International Daily Traveller Pass is billed for a maximum of 20 days (for a maximum of $260).
Once you’ve reached the maximum number of days per billing cycle, Videotron will give you the option to continue using your services free of charge in the US and abroad.
- You’re travelling 15 days in the US and you use your services on a daily basis. You will be billed $9 a day for ten days ($90) for the current billing cycle, even if you use your plan for the full 15 days.
However, if you are between two billing cycles, there is a possibility you will be charged for the full 15 days. If your billing cycle starts on March 15 and you plan on travelling to the US for a total of 28 days (from March 2 to March 30), and if you use your mobile device on a daily basis, the Daily Traveller Pass will be billed as follows:
- For the billing cycle preceding March 15, 10 days, March 2 to March 12, will be billed ($9/day x 10 days = $90).
- You can use your plan for free from March 13 to March 14.
- For the billing cycle beginning on March 15, 10 days, March 15 to March 25, will be billed ($9/day x 10 days = $90).
- You can use your plan for free from March 26 to March 30.
Good to know
If your plan offers the Daily Traveller Pass but you don’t use your mobile device while travelling, you won’t be charged for the Pass. Just make sure to deactivate your data when travelling abroad, otherwise the Daily Traveller Pass will automatically be activated and you will be billed.
How do I activate or deactivate the Daily Traveller Pass?
If you want to activate or deactivate the Daily Traveller Pass, all you have to do is go to the Manage the Daily Traveller Pass section in the Mobile tab of the Customer Centre or the Travel section of your User Centre + mobile app. As soon as you confirm activation or deactivation, the change will immediately come into effect. However, it may take some time before the change appears in the online or mobile Customer Centre.
Note that the Daily Traveller Pass is automatically activated as long as you don’t deactivate it in your account. As a result, you don’t need to activate it for your next trip.
Use of the Daily Traveller Pass will be billed per line. For customers who subscribe after February 15, 2017, with a compatible plan, note that the Daily traveller option will be automatically activated for all the lines of the account. For customers with an admissible plan before February 15, 2017, you are required to indicate which lines will subscribe from the Daily Traveller Pass.
If your plan already allows you to use your services when travelling to the US, the Daily Traveller Pass will not activate when you travel there. However, it will activate when you travel to countries covered by the International Daily Traveller Pass.
As soon as you deactivate the Daily Traveller Pass, any services you use while roaming will be billed on a per-use basis, according to the applicable rates in the country you’re visiting.
If, prior to deactivating the Pass, you used it for a period of 24 hours, it will be billed in its entirety, in addition to any services used while roaming following its deactivation.
For example, if you’re in Mexico and have been using the Daily Traveller Pass for three days. A new 24-hour period will commence at 4 P.M. on the fourth day. You want to send a text message:
- If you send your text message prior to 3:59 P.M., it will be included in the current 24-hour period. You can, therefore, deactivate the Pass after sending your text message to avoid generating another 24-hour period.
- If you send your text message after 3:59 P.M., a new 24-hour period will automatically commence. However, if you decide to deactivate the Pass after sending your text message, you will only be billed for the three days in which you used the Pass, and any message sent after 3:59 P.M. will be billed on a per-use basis according to the current rates in Mexico.
What happens in case of an overage of the Daily Traveller Pass?
If you exceed the data allowance included in your plan, data overage charges will be charged at the rate established in your plan. We suggest that you purchase, as you would if you were at home, on-demand Data Add-ons. To do so, simply go to the Customer Centre or log into your User Centre + mobile app.
When using the International Daily Traveller Pass, data overage charges are capped at $100 per billing cycle. When you reach this limit, your data use will be blocked until the next billing cycle. You can, however, remove this limit whenever you want by visiting the Customer Centre or by logging into your User Centre + mobile app and clicking on the Travel Data Limit.
If you make or receive a call, send a text message or use your data during the same 24-hour period in more than one country covered by the International Daily Traveller Pass, you will be charged a one-time daily fee of $13.
Example: You leave France and head to Italy, passing through Germany. Because the International Daily Traveller Pass covers all three of these countries, you will only be charged a one-time $13 fee for that 24-hour period.